Space

Author(s): Stephen Baxter

Science Fiction

'If they existed, they would be here' ENRICO FERMI. In the second volume in Stephen Baxter's epic Manifold Series Reid Malenfant inhabits the universe Malenfant kick-started in TIME ('science fiction at its best' FHM) -- and 'they' are here.

$8.50(AUD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

'If they existed, they would be here' ENRICO FERMI. In the second volume in Stephen Baxter's epic Manifold Series Reid Malenfant inhabits the universe Malenfant kick-started in TIME ('science fiction at its best' FHM) -- and 'they' are here. / Lead title, second book in the groundbreaking Manifold series / Author tour on publication / Advertising in the genre press / Huge internet promotion

'Baxter is taking basic sf ideas and rebuilding them based on current science, technology and politics -- a tried and true method sor sf writers but no less effective for that. Baxter apparently has the ambition and the energy to reinvigorate hard sf all by himself' Locus on SPACE 'Like all good sf, SPACE provokes questions. What kind of species are we?! the other reason SPACE works well is that Baxter is a good writer! his format and style are assured and keep you happily suspended and engrossed. Right up to the satisfyingly vertiginous climax! Malenfant is one of sf's more memorable characters' SFX on SPACE 'Pacy, visionary, extravagantly imagined, Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov. How reassuring to know that while so many authors are lying in the gutter of the information superhighway, someone at least is still looking at the stars' The Times 'Time is a big ambitious book! science fiction at its best' FHM 'Time has one of the best time-jump sequences ever attempted, during which the protagonists witness the entire future of the universe! Highly intelligent, with original ideas in almost every sentence' GUARDIAN

Stephen Baxter applied to become an astronaut in 1991. He didn't make it, but achieved the next best thing by becoming a science fiction writer, and his novels and short stories have been published and have won awards around the world. His science background is in maths and engineering. He is married and lives in Buckinghamshire.

General Fields

  • : 9780006511830
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : Voyager
  • : 0.238
  • : August 2001
  • : 178mm X 111mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Stephen Baxter
  • : Paperback
  • : 823.914
  • : From 6 To 8
  • : 464
  • : Science fiction
  • : colour illustrations